LOVE IS LOVE X SYDNEY SATURDAY PROTEGES

We are so excited to introduce our second group of Sydney Proteges!

These amazing dancers will represent their dance schools and take the stage on Saturday Night’s screening of Love Is Love!

Our proteges were hand-picked for their talent, drive and determination from a group of dancers who participated in PPDC earlier this year. The Pre-Professional Dance Course ran for 10 weeks where the dancers had the opportunity to learn different dance styles, how to audition and perform for a camera.

We are so privileged to be able to create a show that allows these young talented dancers the opportunity to showcase their talent in a dance production, kick starting their professional dance careers.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank their amazing dance schools! The ongoing love and support is incredible and we are so happy to continue to build and grow our DE family.


Name: Laura Watson

Dance Style: Contemporary

Dance Studio Representing: Elite Dance Centre

Mentor: Jason Winters

Laura Watson

Tell us a little bit about you and your dancing so far?
I started dancing when I was 4 with the amazing Nerida Southwood of Elite Dance Centre in Castle Hill and have completed the ADA syllabus for Jazz and Tap and continue with RAD Ballet. I have previously danced with the Locreado dance program and am part of the wonderful Forge Tap Project. I have also danced internationally and been awarded Contemporary scholarships from The Pulse (Arizona) and Broadway Dance Centre in NYC. I hope to complete my Cert IV in dance in 2018 then follow my dream to dance internationally.

Why did you decide to do the PPDC?
The course was unique offering classes in a range of styles. It also covered other aspects of dance that I knew I could build on such as music videos and audition preparation. I always love trying new things, so the chance to take class with different choreographers and to meet and dance with different people was really exciting.

What was your favourite part about the PPDC?
Definitely the variety of styles we were doing alongside all the different choreographers. I also loved that PPDC considered the whole person not just the dancer. The Mind-Body-Soul concept is very important to me and should be important to everyone.

How did you feel when you heard your name called out?
Excited! I was so happy to have been given an opportunity to dance with a professional cast and particularly because I was selected for Contemporary and now have the opportunity to work with Jason Winters!

What are you most looking forward to being a part of Love Is Love?
Learning from my mentor Jason Winters and the rest of the cast.

What do you love about Dance Editorial and why is Dance Editorial important to you?
I love that Dance Editorial provides a base for many great dancers to be recognised and that they focus on more than just the dancing but the whole community and culture around dance.

What are 3 unusual, interesting or funny things about you?
I am an Aries and I can be fierce!
Contemporary and Tap are my favourite dance styles
I am a hat fanatic..I love hats, and I have a closet full of them!

Screen Shot 2017-05-23 at 11.39.05 am

insta

___________________________________________________________________

Name: Portia England

Dance Style: Dancehall

Mentor: Jean Chritz

Portia England

Tell us a little bit about you and your dancing so far?
My name is Portia England and I am 16 years old. I am in year 11 at the McDonald College of Performing arts and am in the musical theatre stream. I trained for many years at Village Nation and now dance at the Next Step Performing Arts and favourite style of dance is Hip Hop.

Why did you decide to do the PPDC?
I decided to do the course because I saw the 7 Vices show last year that participants of the course were in and saw how amazingly they performed and was inspired to join.

What was your favourite part about the PPDC?
The course was so amazing, I not only enjoyed the dancing and learning from other choreographers but I loved learning about makeup, doing headshots, meeting new friends and especially the dance video clip.

How did you feel when you heard your name called out?
When my name was called out to be the Dancehall protégé for Sydney, I felt so ecstatic. I was so excited to have gotten a position in the show and I am so grateful for the opportunity.

What are you most looking forward to being a part of Love Is Love?
I am most looking forward to learning from all the professional dancers and choreographers around me and improving in not just my dance ability but my overall performance quality.

What do you love about Dance Editorial and why is Dance Editorial important to you?
I love that Dance Editorial covers all aspects of a performer, not only within a dance but also focusing on the overall health of the mind and body. I love their weekly posts where I can learn about other performers that inspire me and I love Dance Editorial’s constant support towards young dancers.

What are 3 unusual, interesting or funny things about you?
I am a Taekwondo athlete, I have a Victoria secret perfume collection that I don’t let anyone touch and I have a crazy, all white dog named Casper.

insta

___________________________________________________________________

Name: Sophie Martin

Dance Style: Hip Hop

Dance Studio Representing: Commotion / LA Talent

Mentor: Fetu Taku

Tell us a little bit about you and your dancing so far?
My name is Sophie Martin. I’m 13 years old. I have been dancing since I was 3 years old. I love all styles of dancing.

Why did you decide to do the PPDC?
My friend loved the course when he did it and I wanted to have the amazing experience of a course like this and I was old enough this year so I asked my mum and she said yes.

What was your favourite part about the PPDC?
My favorite part was EVERYTHING!

I loved the amazing teachers and all the kids in the course were all so nice and talented. We all made new friendships and I miss them all already.

How did you feel when you heard your name called out?
I was so happy and excited. I was very lucky to be chosen and I’m very grateful for this awesome opportunity.

What are you most looking forward to being a part of Love is Love?
EVERYTHING !! I can’t wait to work with and learn from Fetu and the whole show. I’ve never been in a show before I’m so excited and I can’t wait to be a part of it.

What do you love about Dance Editorial and why is Dance Editorial important to you?
I love Dance Editorial because it brings dancers from all different places together and you get to meet and learn from each other in a happy place and they have great ideas and blogs.

 What are 3 unusual, interesting or funny things about you?

I have a double jointed thumb,

My favorite subject is Maths

And my middle name Lorryn is both my nana (Lorraine) and granny’s (Robyn) name joined.

insta

___________________________________________________________________

Name: Anneke Eales

Dance Style: Hip Hop

Dance Studio Representing: Q2DANCE

Mentor: Trevor Santos

Anneke Eales

Tell us a little bit about you and your dancing so far?
To start from the beginning, I began dancing in ballet at the age of 8 before discontinuing and continuing again in jazz and hip hop at Q2 Dance, Sydney, at the age of 10 years old. In only a few years, I was doing most classes available at Q2 before I was accepted into the competition group, which was a childhood goal of mine. I moved from junior to senior competition group, and with this came many great opportunities that Q2Dance provided for me, such as dancing for Janet Jackson’s back-up dancer, dancing in music videos, dancing on the morning show and appearing on Saturday Disney. At the age of 13, I experienced a great travel to Los Angeles with my dance studio, for dancing and learning purposes where I was taught by professional choreographers. The most recent event in my dance career, would be being involved in Dance Editorial’s Love is Love production, being chosen as a protégé from the Pre-professional dance course, to be mentored by Trevor Santos. I am in year 9 at Loreto Kirribilli.

Why did you decide to do the PPDC?
I decided to do the PPDC, mainly because of how much inspiration and empowerment I grasped from the 7 Vices show. It was an incredible production, and it helped me to understand the meaning behind movement and how dance is not for the sake of legs, turns and tricks – it is for the purpose of telling a story and sharing experience. Sitting in the audience watching this production, made me feel something that was so unfamiliar to me. Seeing a complete unknown side of people, I know, made me experience a feeling so overwhelming – not a bad one but one of great admiration – it is unexplainable. This is the first experience of watching dance, I had, where I felt tears build in my eyes, and that day, I felt a feeling that I cannot yet explain, but connected to me and helped me realise how I wanted to spend my life and how I wanted to change the world. This is the exact reason that I chose to participate in the PPDC course. However, knowing that I had the chance to be in the next production was far from my main goal. My goal was to take away every inch of knowledge that this course could offer. I wanted to take the course because of the amazing choreographers that I admire so much as humans and dancers as well as the other people who could provide insight on how to make it in the dance industry. I would recommend this incredible course to anyone for the essential fact that the knowledge you gain from it is so significant as well as because of the great choreographers and the connections that are made between dance studios around NSW.

What was your favourite part about the PPDC?
My favourite part about the PPDC was definitely the graduation because although it was sad to conclude the course, it was an amazing feeling to reflect on how much we had learnt. We were able to perform the dances we had learnt over the 10 weeks, as well as present the music video. Although I was not actually featured in the video due to a mid-course injury, not related to the course, I loved watching how all my closest friends had grown. It was such an amazing feeling at the graduation, being able to freestyle in front of an audience as we saw our new headshots for the first time. It made everything feel so real and overall, was the highlight of the course. It didn’t matter protégé or not. All of I was thinking about that night was how lucky I was to have been involved in the course, learn from incredible choreographers and meet so many new, amazing friends.

How did you feel when you heard your name called out?
My experience from this course was very different to the other participants, as half-way through the course, I discovered that I had a gradual lumbar spine injury that had developed in the last year. It required 6 weeks of no dancing, which was a huge challenge for my mental and physical wellbeing. When my name was called out, it was the most unexplainable feeling. I was over the moon with surprise, and when Shannon shared with the audience what had happened and how I was chosen as a protégé, I teared up with appreciation, surprise and pride. I cannot explain the excitement that I was experiencing in that split-second of getting called out. It was definitely a very pleasant surprise. The simplicity of my name being called out as a protégé remains one of my highlights in my dance experiences so far, because I hold great honour to be involved in this incredible production.

What are you most looking forward to being a part of LOVE IS LOVE?
As a dancer, I have always looked forward to rehearsals, tech runs, and most importantly, the performance. I have admired my mentor, Trevor Santos, for a while now, as an incredible hip hop dancer, so I am definitely most excited to learn from his amazing ways. I am excited to get out there in the dance community in another age group – one of adults. It is truly a dream to be able to share the stage with and learn from some of my favourite dancers and choreographers in the dance industry.

What do you love about Dance Editorial and why is Dance Editorial important to you?
What I love most about Dance Editorial is the work ethic of the whole company. The amount of connections it has with all aspects of the dance industry – choreographers, make-up artists, dancer, videographers and more. I love that Dance Editorial has these great connections, therefore having the ability to provide great opportunities. Dance Editorial, is so important to me, as it has really helped me to realise how I want to live my life – if dance is my passion. And that if it is my passion, as it is, dance is not the one and only path. There are other roads to take. I think this is an extremely important piece of knowledge that I have never been exposed to before being in contact with Dance Editorial. It is important to any dancer, because it guarantees that with great work ethic comes great opportunities. I also love Dance Editorial because it mainly focuses on the value of work ethic and the importance of this value in any aspect of the dance industry. I feel as if this value is often undervalued, and the fact that Dance Editorial reflects work ethic in their own company growth, provides a great example of how work ethic is key. I know that Dance Editorial will be a very significant part of my dance career, because of its great connections, teachings, professionalism and opportunities it provides.

What are 3 unusual, interesting or funny things about you?
I refused to attend kindergarten, until my mum told all my teachers to change my ‘first name’ to Annie, instead of Anneke, because unlike today, I hated my name!!

I have to put on at least 5 alarms in the morning to actually get up for school.

I LOVE AVACADOS

insta

___________________________________________________________________

Name: Sienna Hillcoat

Dance Style: Contemporary

Dance Studio Representing: VPA Studios

Mentor: Tyson Almond

Sienna Hillcoat

Tell us a little about you and your dancing so far?
I am Sienna Hillcoat. I just turned 15 years old. I dance at VPA Studios in Wollongong and attend Wollongong High School of the Performing Arts. I have been dancing since I was 4 years old and train in all styles of dance, however my favourites are contemporary and hip hop.

I dance because it is just a part of me; I can’t sit still and am always tapping my feat or moving my arms working out some new choreography. Dance allows me to express my emotions without the difficulty of finding words.

Why did you decide to do the PPDC?
I decided to audition for PPDC 2017 because I wanted extend myself as a dancer and learn more about myself as a performer.

What was your favourite part about the PPDC?
My favourite part of PPDC was the people. Everyone I met was so encouraging and shared the same love for dance that I do. I also enjoyed learning dance routines from some amazing choreographers. Shannon was the best mentor and helped me understand my views towards dancing and embrace myself.

How did you feel when you heard you name called out?
When I heard my name being called out as a 2017 protégé I was just ecstatic. Living outside of the Sydney region not many opportunities come by like this so I was just so excited to be part of the show.

What are you most looking forward to being a part of 7 VICES?
I am looking forward to working with my mentor Tyson Almond and performing for an audience with other amazing dancers. Again, living outside of Sydney I know this is an amazing opportunity.

What do you love about Dance Editorial and why is Dance Editorial important to you?
I love how Dance Editorial provides young dancers with current information about the dance industry. How they encourage all dancers to follow their dreams and help promote dancers.

By providing courses such as PPDC, Dance Editorial has given me the opportunity to meet other dancers and different choreographers that I may never have meet through just dancing at competitions or doing workshops outside of my studio.

What are 3 unusual, interesting or funny things about you?
I have freaky long fingers and toes that I constantly crack and annoy people with all the time.
I’m the only person in the world that does not like pizza
I love to write short stories but am a terrible speller

insta

Leave a Reply

