LOVE IS LOVE X SYDNEY FRIDAY PROTEGES

We are so thrilled to announce our first group of proteges!
These talented young dancers will represent their dance schools as our Sydney proteges in our Friday night showing of Love Is Love.

This year, the audition process for our dance production was a little different to last year. We specifically auditioned and picked our proteges from the group of talented dancers who participated in PPDC in Sydney, Central Coast and Canberra.

We are so excited to have such great young talent on board and would like to take this opportunity to send out a huge thank you to their dance schools! The ongoing love and support is incredible and we are so happy to continue to build and grow our DE family.

FRIDAY PROTEGES

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Name: Sophie Stamoulos

Dance Style: Hip Hop

Dance Studio Representing: Commotion / LA Talent

Mentor: Fetu Taku

Sophie Stamoulos

Tell us a little bit about you and your dancing so far?
I am 12 years old and I enjoy all styles of dance, especially Contemporary and Hip Hop. I have been dancing since I was 7 years old and have loved every minute of it since. 

Why did you decide to do the PPDC?
I decided to do PPDC because I love all styles of dance and this was my chance to experience a different style and amazing choreographer every week. It was also an awesome opportunity to meet and make friends with kids from different dance schools.

 What was your favourite part about the PPDC?
Meeting and making new friends, working with amazing choreographers, learning more about myself and dancing, of course!

 How did you feel when you heard your name called out?
OMG … amazing… excited… couldn’t believe it happened to me… very grateful!

 What are you most looking forward to being a part of Love is Love?
Working with Fetu, I am incredibly excited for that. I am also looking forward to performing for people who have paid to watch this show, that is such a huge responsibility and an amazing feeling at the same time.

 What do you love about Dance Editorial and why is Dance Editorial important to you?
Dance Editorial was not just about the dancing, it gave me so much more. It boosted my confidence! I made new friendships and the course gave me an overall small taste of the dance world. Loved it, loved it, loved it!

 What are 3 unusual, interesting or funny things about you?
I have a very unusual tongue, I can make some unusual shapes.
I can almost use my toes as hands.
I am super crazy when I am with friends.

image1

insta

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Name: Isabel Kratz

Dance Style: Hip Hop

Dance Studio Representing: Brent Street

Mentor: Trevor Santos

Isabel Kratz

Tell us a little bit about you and your dancing so far?
I have been dancing since I was 5 years old at Brent Street. Dancing and performing is my passion! My goal is to become a professional performer and be a triple threat on Broadway.

Why did you decide to do the PPDC?
I watched the 7 Vices show last year and absolutely LOVED it! So I decided then that I would love to be a part of PPDC. Also, it is a great opportunity to learn from lots of different, amazing choreographers and to put my name out there with some important people in the industry.

What was your favourite part about the PPDC?
My favourite part of the PPDC was learning from some of the best dancers and choreographers in the industry. I also got the opportunity to learn new, different styles of dance, like Dance Hall and House Hip Hop. Meeting other like-minded pre professionals that I now call friends was great as well!

How did you feel when you heard your name called out?
When I heard my name called out to be a Protege in ‘Love is Love’, I was overwhelmed with emotion. To be standing there with so many other incredible dancers, had me surprised, excited, nervous and above all very grateful all at the same time!

What are you most looking forward to being a part of Love Is Love?
I’m so so SO excited to be a part of ‘Love is Love’, and to be mentored by the awesome Trevor Santos! Performing alongside such inspirations to me and so many people will be the ULTIMATE experience. I also will get to dance with some of my new friends and share this awesome experience with them. My dance teachers from Brent St are coming to watch the show and I can’t wait to show them what I’ve learned.

What do you love about Dance Editorial and why is Dance Editorial important to you?
I love the fact that Dance Editorial creates a way for young dancers from all over Australia to collaborate, interact, and learn from some of the best! It also includes not only dance, but teaches self confidence, lessons on makeup, fitness and other aspects that are essential to work in the industry.

What are 3 unusual, interesting or funny things about you?
I am absolutely OBSESSED with Harry Potter. I have so much merchandise, including T-shirts, memorabilia from the books and movies, and I even own 5 wands!

This may be a bit confusing, but my name and birthday have a weird connection. my birthday is the 19/09, the first two letters of my name are I and S (for Isabel). I is the 9th letter of the alphabet, and S is the 19th! Coincidence? I think not, haha!
I’m a bit of a thrill seeker! I love horror movies, roller coasters, and many things that give me an adrenalin rush, but when I see a cockroach, THATS IT. I’m gone! Cockroaches are my biggest fear!

insta

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Name: Willa Bell Klemm

Dance Style: Contemporary

Dance Studio Representing: Lamont Dance and Theatre

Mentor: Tyson Almond

Willa Bell Klemm

Tell us a little bit about you and your dancing so far?
I started dancing at Lamont Dance and Theatre at the age of ten and have been there ever since. First with the love of Hip Hop then slowly, I built up classes with styles of Contemporary, Jazz, Tap and I only started ballet a year and a half ago. Being able to show emotion through movement is so special and that’s what has kept me with dance. Dance Editorials show LOVE IS LOVE will be the beginning of my dance career.

Why did you decide to do the PPDC?
I decided to do PPDC because I really just wanted to get out there, expand my knowledge and to be around like-minded people. When I saw that the course also did a session on the ‘body, mind and soul’, I was immediately interested as I think it is important and beneficial to all who want to be in the dance industry.

What was your favourite part about the PPDC?

PPDC was such an inspiring course. To be around dancers so supportive of one another was great and it really pushed me, which I loved.

How did you feel when you heard your name called out?
Throughout the course I didn’t think about the possibility of being chosen for the upcoming show, so when I was called out as a protégé for ‘LOVE IS LOVE’ I was so surprised and at the same time I was incredibly happy! I couldn’t believe it, mainly because there were so many amazingly talented dancers on the course!

What are you most looking forward to being a part of Love Is Love?
The thing I am most looking forward to in being part of LOVE IS LOVE, is dancing with and being supported by such an amazing team of dancers all sharing the same passion. Also being given this special opportunity to learn from a professional choreographer and to grow as a dancer.  I cannot wait!

What do you love about Dance Editorial and why is Dance Editorial important to you?
I love how Dance Editorial aims to give direction into the industry to striving young dancers, preparing us with important knowledge for a career in dance.

I also loved how Dance Editorial reminded us why exactly we dance and to stay humble and not get caught up in the competitive side of the industry.

What are 3 unusual, interesting or funny things about you?
Ummm interesting things about me… Oh gosh…

First dance class I ever did was Flamenco at the age of two.

I used to swim competitively.

I’ve never broken a bone. (touch wood)

insta

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Name: Isabella Spiteri

Dance Style: Contemporary

Dance Studio Representing: Brent Street

Mentor: Jason Winters

IMG_8857

Tell us a little bit about you and your dancing so far?
I started dancing when I was 3 years old at Lee Windon Dancers, taught with ADA (Australasian Dance Association) syllabus work. Last year having completed all my grades I then moved dance schools to Brent Street, I was lucky to have been chosen to be apart of BSA (Brent Street Academy) that was relaunched this year, I’m currently doing year 10 via distance learning and will continue to year 12. Every other second of the day I’m dancing and I LOVE IT.

Last year I entered the Australasian Championships and won a trip to New York which I will be traveling later this year and will take part in dance workshops over there. Can’t wait.

When I was younger my favourite style was lyrical but thanks to my mentors and dance editorial for introducing me to all styles of dance which now I can honestly say I have a passion for all and respect all styles of dance.  It is not easy but if you love what you do and embrace new things and have an opened mind you can do anything.  Doing PPDC changed how I thought about things and gave me the courage to open up.

Why did you decide to do the PPDC?
Some friends actually suggested I apply for PPDC I’m so glad I did and forever grateful to Dance Editorial for selecting me to be apart of this amazing experience. I wanted to further gain knowledge of what it would be like in the industry.

What was your favourite part about the PPDC?
My favourite part of the course was the dancing and giving new styles a go like Dance Hall it was amazing, fun and so fast. It was really cool to have had the opportunity to try something new that I hadn’t done before. Also making new friendship along the way, everybody was so nice and I know I have made friends for life.  Beautiful Minds class was brilliant, it was a class where you learned to just let go and give into all your insecurities about yourself.  Everyone is beautiful and it doesn’t matter what people say or think about you.  This class really brought us all closer together as a group.

How did you feel when you heard your name called out?
As I was standing there in the line my mind was overwhelmed of just completed our graduation night still pumped from dancing and clapping for my fellow graduates who were selected then my name was called. I was like ahhhhhhh and shocked at the same time.  I felt like the happiest person on the planet and then to be told my mentor was Jason Winters I was ecstatic.

What are you most looking forward to being a part of Love Is Love?
I am looking forward to work with the one and only Jason Winters and his dance style contemporary which I love and can’t wait to start. Also for the actual production Love is Love because I have never done anything like this before and am forever grateful and can’t thank PPDC enough for this once in a life time opportunity and hopefully it will be one of many to come.

What do you love about Dance Editorial and why is Dance Editorial important to you?
Dance editorial is important to me because they helped me to open up and to be more confidence as a person and as a dancer. They taught me so much about what happens within the industry, not only about dance itself but for all opportunities out there within the industry.

What are 3 unusual, interesting or funny things about you?
My arms are so double jointed that I can hold them together and use them as a skipping rope.
I’m scared of birds.
Love cooking hate cleaning up after.

Screen Shot 2017-05-23 at 1.17.10 pm

insta

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Name: Portia England

Dance Style: Dancehall

Mentor: Jean Chritz

Portia England

Tell us a little bit about you and your dancing so far?
My name is Portia England and I am 16 years old. I am in year 11 at the McDonald College of Performing Arts and am in the musical theatre stream. I trained for many years at Village Nation and now dance at the Next Step Performing Arts and favourite style of dance is Hip Hop.

Why did you decide to do the PPDC?
I decided to do the course because I saw the 7 Vices show last year that participants of the course were in and saw how amazingly they performed and was inspired to join.

What was your favourite part about the PPDC?
The course was so amazing, I not only enjoyed the dancing and learning from other choreographers but I also loved learning about makeup, doing headshots, meeting new friends and especially the dance video clip.

How did you feel when you heard your name called out?
When my name was called out to be the Dancehall protégé for Sydney, I felt so ecstatic. I was so excited to have gotten a position in the show and I am so grateful for the opportunity.

What are you most looking forward to being a part of Love Is Love?
I am most looking forward to learning from all the professional dancers and choreographers around me and improving in not just my dance ability but my overall performance quality.

What do you love about Dance Editorial and why is Dance Editorial important to you?
I love that Dance Editorial covers all aspects of a performer, not only within a dance but also focusing on the overall health of the mind and body. I love their weekly posts where I can learn about other performers that inspire me and I love Dance Editorial’s constant support towards young dancers.

What are 3 unusual, interesting or funny things about you?
I am a Taekwondo athlete.
I have a Victoria secret perfume collection that I don’t let anyone touch.
I have a crazy, all white dog named Casper.

insta

Leave a Reply

